US Military Agencies

Personnel End Strength

Military Occupational Specialties

Department of Defense
Army Navy
Marine Corps Air Force
Coast Guard
Department of Transportation Maritime Administration

The USA has four military services, the Air Force, Army, Marine Corps and Navy. It also has five armed forces, those four, plus the Coast Guard.

In addition, the USA has seven uniformed services, all of the above, plus the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps (USPHS), part of the Department of Health, whose broad mission is to safeguard national health, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Commissioned Corps (NOAA), overseen by the Commerce Department and charged with protecting the environment and climate. Officers of both corps are commissioned, which means that just like their military counterparts, they cannot resign until they have finished their terms of service. They also wear uniforms but donít carry weapons, that is, unless the president chooses to militarize them, as President Harry Truman did during World War II and the Korean Conflict, caring for the wounded, conducting land surveys, even forecasting weather for military operations.

Join the mailing list